Posted by: mccordalliance | January 20, 2013

Superhero Party

I’m already thinking about the boys’ birthday parties even though they are 4 and 5 months away. Jack has informed me he wants his at Chuck E. Cheese (AHHH!) and Luke doesn’t know what birthdays are so this should be fun! 🙂  But, many months ago, as in 7 months ago, I threw a pretty awesome superhero birthday party for the boys. I’ve wanted to post pics, but haven’t made time, much like the dozens of other blog posts I meant to do. I got lots of my ideas from Pinterest and Etsy and countless web searches, and thought I would share my take on it for other moms out there planning a superhero party! It’s pretty detailed because when I was looking for ideas, I always wanted more details from these posts! All photos by the very talented Chris McCord.

The boys are 25 months apart, to the day, so I decided to pick a Saturday in between their days and have a combined party. Jack was turning 3 and Luke 1. 1st birthday parties are most important to the parents, so I didn’t think Luke would mind, and we were going to invite the same people to both parties anyway, so 1 party it was! Jack was major into superheroes, and I thought of the dynamic duo, so the theme was easy.

I didn’t want to focus on a single hero, I wanted it to be a broad superhero theme. My talented husband found a template online and used it for the starting point of our invitations. He added the photos, adjusted the text and voila, a super awesome, comic book inspired, superhero party invitation!

Invitation Front

Invitation Front

I bought this party pack from SimoneMadeIt on Etsy- it was so awesome because it was an editable PDF file. I could type in whatever text I wanted and print myself. This was great, since my party was for 2 kids. I could run a set of cupcake toppers, etc with Jack’s name and age, then redo it with Luke. It came with a ton of printables- invitation, thank you, various size tags, circles, various wrappers,  favor bag toppers, banner, signs, etc. It was a really great deal, considering all the printables and the editing you can do.

Power Rings!

Power Rings!

For decor, we wrapped some empty boxes in red and blue wrapping paper, cut out squares of black electrical tape for windows, and placed some of Jack’s superhero figures on them.  We also scattered some of Jack’s larger hero figures around.

Superhero buildings as decor

Superhero buildings as decor

We also stapled black wrapping paper up to the fence in the backyard and my talented husband painted a skyline on it. It made a perfect photo backdrop!

Batgirl!

Batgirl!

As part of the kids favors, I had capes and masks for everyone. I found the capes in the party section of SuperTarget. They were a steal for $2 each. I bought some sticky back foam, traced shapes like stars, lightning bolts, hearts and flowers, and stuck them on the back to make them super! I bought the masks on Etsy from MyAllyBally.

Capes and masks for the kiddos

Capes and masks for the kiddos

The food might have been my favorite part. I got lots of ideas through my numerous searches. The party was at 10 am because it’s really hot in June in Oklahoma, so I wanted to do it early so we could still play outside. We really just had more snacky foods since it was right between breakfast and lunch. Food all had super names, like Yikes! Fruits & Veggies, SNAP, CRACKLE & POP! Rice Crispy treats, Elasta-Cheese, POP! Corn, Hypno Wheels (pinwheels), Sausage POPs! (sausage balls with lollipop sticks), Kryptonite (green rock candy), Power Rings (ring pop), Super Whips (Twizzlers), Power Punch (juice box), Hero Hydrator (water) and Soda POP! The cupcakes were my Sugar Blast! and each boy had a cupcake tower. I just got cupcakes at Wal-Mart with red, yellow and blue icing.

Food table

Food table

Sugar Blast! Cupcakes

Sugar Blast! Cupcakes

We rented a moon bounce from Inflatable Adventures in Yukon. They were so nice and had the best price in town. They ordered an Avengers banner that went on the top of the bouncehouse. Of course, the kids loved bouncing, and it was labeled Leap Tall Buildings in a Single Bound! I also had a few games set up outside. We had Super Breath Blowing (bubbles), Flight School (swings). I froze some little hero figures into a big ice block (idea from here) and the kids shot water guns at them to “Save the Heroes.”  We have an open area beside our house, so I dumped a bunch of black and grey balloons over there and the kids had to “diffuse the bombs” by stepping on them. Then I gave them each a can of Silly String so they could “shoot webs.” That might have been the most fun!

Shooting webs

Shooting webs

Besides the capes, I made little favor bags, because I was buying hero stuff like crazy! I found Avengers taffy and candy at the Dollar Tree and stickers, markers and notepads at Michael’s. I also did little superhero pins I found fron GandGButons Etsy. I also made really cute superhero suckers, as seen here (includes printables).

Favor table

Favor table

I probably spent way too much effort on this, but I love this stuff, and Jack is still talking about his party, so I call it a success! Can’t wait for this year!!

Luke loves cake

Luke loves cake

Jack makes a wish

Jack makes a wish

Here’s are some sites I took inspiration (and ideas) from:
Anders Ruff
Rachael Ray
Miller Memories

Send in the Clowns

Tai Dye Original

One Charming Party

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Responses

  1. If you are looking for a super hero theme why not add Night Owl to your list of fabulous finds.

  2. […]   https://mccordalliance.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/superhero-party/  These games are too cute!   […]

  3. […] superhero needs POWER RINGS! Add these Wonder Woman Power Rings to your candy table for everyone to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

