Posted by: mccordalliance | January 17, 2012

One Sentence A Day

Ok, I’ve failed at blogging again! Every time I think I’m going to become this fantastic blogger, I don’t make the time to blog. My notebook has a whole list of things that I meant to blog about, but it hasn’t happened.  So, as I was getting my hair done the other night, I got to read an entire magazine, cover to cover! This was amazing- at home, I’m still working my way through a magazine from November!  And that’s just the top of the stack- I’m pretty sure there are some from May at the bottom of my big stack.  But, even better than reading a whole magazine without interruption, I found an article that really made me think.

It was by Gretchen Rubin, the NY Times bestselling author of The Happiness Project.  In her pursuit of happiness, she started keeping a one -sentence journal.  Each day, she jots down one sentence about that day.  From her blog (http://www.happiness-project.com/)-

Two years ago, I started keeping a one-sentence journal because I knew I would never be able to keep a proper journal with lengthy entries. I just don’t have the time or energy to write a long entry – even two or three times a week.

Instead, each day, I write one sentence (well, actually, I type on the computer) about what happened that day to me, the Big Man and the girls.
(You can read this full post here: http://www.happiness-project.com/happiness_project/2008/06/your-happiness.html)

Aha!  What a brilliant idea.  Yes, perhaps the task of blogging is daunting to me. I am on a computer all day, and once I get home, it’s kids/family time until at least 9:30- then I have laundry, dishes, etc to do, or I’m so exhausted that I fall asleep with Jack.  When does that leave time for blogging?  And after all that, I definitely don’t want to fire up the computer.  But, one sentence a day? I can definitely do that. I can update one sentence (or two or three) from my computer, iPhone, Kindle- which ever device I happen to be on that night.  And, I will have a happy record of our lives.

After I wrote that, I was reading a bit more from Gretchen Rubin, and she perfectly summed up how I feel about one sentence a day:

One thing is true: we tend to overestimate what we can do in the short-term, and underestimate what we can do in the long-term, if we do a little bit at a time. Writing one sentence a day sounds fairly easy, and it is; at the end of the year, it adds up to a marvelous record.

Fantastic. I like this lady. I can’t wait to read more of her blog (and maybe even her book!).  After I write my first sentence…

Responses

  1. Such a good idea! 🙂

  2. […] happened to my one sentence a day?! I started off so good…but then, like always, life happened.  We’ve been having so […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

