Posted by: mccordalliance | July 11, 2011

Welcome Luke Harrison

Luke Harrison McCord arrived Wednesday, June 29, 2011.  He was 8 lbs, 10 oz, 21.5″ long- a big boy!  He has a full head of dark hair, chubby cheeks, and he is just gorgeous!

When you’re pregnant, the first question you get is “what are you having?”  Then comes, what are you going to name him.  We didn’t know.  We talked about names a lot, but couldn’t decide on one.  Luke and Harrison were both on our list, and a couple of days before he was born, we discussed and narrowed it down to 3 names- Luke Jameson, Harrison James and Maxwell John.  The next day, Chris said, how about Luke Harrison, we both loved it and decided that would be his name.  I really liked Luke- I think it pairs well with Jack- they both have four letters, they both have a K in them.  Chris really liked Luke so he can say “Luke, I am your father.”  Harrison is also a name that we both liked, and I think Luke Harrison McCord is a great, strong name.

On Sunday night, I started having mild contractions that lasted through the night and into the next day. They didn’t hurt and were about 30 minutes apart, but by lunch time, they weren’t going away, so I called my doctor’s office and they sent me to the hospital for observation. I think I was a little scared I would have another fast and furious delivery, so I was being extra cautious.  Plus, at 35 weeks, I was already dilated to a 3, and my doctor was pretty confident I would deliver within 2 weeks.

So, at the hospital, I was dilated to a 5, but the contractions weren’t strong and I wasn’t in active labor.  The nurse wasn’t sure what to do with me, since I was progressing but not in active labor.  After consulting with my doctor, they sent me home, with instructions to come back ASAP if contractions increased, and to go to the doctor first thing the next morning.

Chris and I went to see Dr. Hager first thing Tuesday morning, anticipating it was baby day.  I’d increased to a 6 overnight, but still not in active labor.  Due to my past delivery, and remembering that I didn’t feel contractions until late-stage labor, plus the size of the baby, she recommended an induction for a more controlled delivery.  We weighed the pros/cons, scenarios, etc and decided to go ahead and induce.  Unfortunately for us, the hospital was full, so we had to wait one more day.  It was so weird for me to go home knowing we were having a baby the next day!  We just spent the rest of the day at home relaxing and making sure we had everything ready.

Last belly shot before getting started

Wednesday morning, we arrived at the hospital at 7 a.m., started checking in then waited over an hour for the room to be ready.  We finally got settled in, and Dr. Hager came in around 9 to check me and break my water.  I was afraid that would be painful, but it wasn’t.  I got my epidural after that and it was amazing when it started working!  I just couldn’t get my mind around the fact that I was contracting and couldn’t feel a thing.  It was even crazier when the nurse told me it was time to push!  Dr. Hager came in around 12:30 or so, and it was time. 

Luke arrived at 12:49 p.m.  The nurses all said “look at that hair.”  Then they said “oh, he’s a big boy!”  He scored a 9 and 9 on his Apgar.  He got cleaned up and I got to hold him.  He was precious, of course!

Welcoming Luke!

He’s 12 days old now.  So far, he’s a great baby. He sleeps a lot- I have to wake him to eat most of the time during the day.  He started off waking up twice at night, but lately he wants to wake up every couple of hours.  I’m hoping that works itself out soon.  He’s already up to 9 lbs, 8 oz and 22″ long, so he’s definitely growing!  We love him and are enjoying our family of four!

 

Responses

  1. Yay for Luke!! Beautiful name and I’m so happy for you guys!!

  2. YAY! He’s adorable! Carissa called me after his pics and told me how much fun it was to see you!! Can’t wait to see them!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

