Posted by: mccordalliance | June 26, 2011

37 weeks

I made it to 37 weeks of pregnancy.  Today is actually 37w4d, and baby boy is considered full-term.  This is exciting because due to Jack’s early arrival, I was at risk for another premature birth.  Making it this far makes those weekly hormone injections worth it because they did their job.  And now, I am ready to have this baby!  It’s been in the 100s here- dry, hot and humid. I’m carrying around an extra 30-something pounds, which includes a person in my belly. I hate the heat anyway, but this is miserable!  I feel like a beached whale most days, as I just want to lay on the couch under the air conditioner vent.  I still love to feel baby kicking or pushing though, which happens quite a bit while lying down.  He tends to push all his weight on to my right side.  He should be measuring about 6.5 lbs and 19-22 inches (the size of a watermelon, per What to Expect).  I love to feel the baby movements, and know I will miss that once he’s here.

At 35w6d, my dr. told me I was dilated to 3cm and 70% effaced. She was pretty confident I would deliver within a week or two.  She is a very calm and rational person, but she did get a little excited over this discovery, which made me excited. The crib is set up with the new bedding, the clothes are out of the attic and 0-3 are washed and ready to go, the gear is out and cleaned, bottles are sterelized…I fully expected to deliver at any day.  Here we are, nearly 2 weeks later, and I’m still hanging in there. I’ve progressed to 4 cm, but no baby.  My next check up is Tuesday- I will be 37w6d, and can’t wait to find out what is going on.  In these final weeks of pregnancy, I want to go to the dr everyday to find out what is going on.

Just enjoying our family of 3 before baby arrives. He still doesn’t have a name- Jack refers to him as Bubba.  When I ask him where Bubba is he lifts up my shirt and kisses my tummy.  He is the sweetest little boy, and I know he will make a great big brother.

Leave a Reply

Categories

