Posted by: mccordalliance | May 30, 2011

Family

I am very thankful for my family.  We are a close-knit group.  We’ve always lived near each other. When I was a kid, we spent everyday at my grandparent’s house. We would play all day in the park across the street from them, and Granny had dinner ready when my mom came home from work to pick us up so we all ate dinner together.  My uncles were always around, so they were more like big brothers to us than uncles.  Now that we are older, we still all live near each other and see each other a lot.  My sister is the farthest away, in Tulsa, but she starts a new job here in OKC this summer and they will be moving about 2 miles from us this summer.  So fun for the kids, but also for us!

Jack and his cousin Eli love each other so much.  Eli is very protective of Jack, and Jack just imitates everything Eli does.  There are the usual issues with sharing, etc, but these two can play together for hours and for days after Eli visits, Jack says “E-ye?” looking for him. They have a very special bond, and I think it’s great.

Jack and Eil- best buds

Chris went to a work conference a couple of weeks ago and was gone for a week.  My mom was helping my grandmother with eye surgery, so I took them all dinner one night, and then my mom took Jack and I to dinner one night. It was nice to have some company while he was gone, but also a little help with Jack.  I am really happy that Jack has so much family around for him to get to know and is developing the same kind of relationship with his grandparents that I have with mine. Luckily for us, Chris likes my family too, as he has just been adopted into all the craziness.

We are lucky to have some fun cousins on Chris’s side too.  A couple of weeks ago, we spent some time with them and we had a blast visiting and catching up, and Jack found a new playmate in his cousin, Cale.  They played together so well, and we are looking forward to spending more time with the McCord cousins!

Jack and Cale cruising in the Gator

Leave a Reply

Categories

