Posted by: mccordalliance | January 11, 2011

Resolve

As the new year started, I came up with a list of things that I want to incorporate into my life. Not necessarily resolutions- just things I want to do more of.  I was very proud of this list.  Then I saw my 2010 resolutions, and realized they’re a little similar.  Apparently, in the past year, I failed to do enough of these things- so much so that I just realized (again) that I want to do them.  So here is my list of what I want to add to my life.

1.  Blog: I feel like blogging is a little vain.  Here’s a website all about us- read and comment.  But, the thing is- I’m not a very good blogger. I never seem to find the time to post, and I don’t even think that many people read it.  But what I love about blogs is they allow me to reconnect with old friends. Even if I don’t see them or talk to them anymore, I know where they are in life- the happy, sad, embarrassing sweet and funny moments, because of their blog.

A couple of my college friends are great bloggers and both posted about moms being the memory keepers for their families, and that really struck me.  My family might remember the big moments- the holidays, the vacations, the birthdays, etc- but I want us to remember the everyday- the funny things that were said or done, the spontaneous, and even the everyday.  I want them to always know how much fun we have, and how much love we have.  So, I can do that with this blog. I can record the funny things Jack says or does, or the adorable photos of him, and they will always be here for us to look back on.  I can even put them in a book so we can look back on our year.  And if some of you read it along the way, awesome.  But if you don’t it’s okay too.

2.  Connect- Technology makes communication so easy.  You can text, Facebook, send an email, blog…so many ways to stay in touch with friends and family, near and far.  But nothing beats personal communication.  I am the first to admit that I love technology. It’s so easy to send a text or email, or post on someone’s wall.  But often, your message gets lost because the tone sounds wrong or something- it’s just not personal.  So, I want to connect more with the people in my life. I want more date nights, lunch dates, more time with my girlfriends, more phone calls with my friends who live far away, more socializing just because.  And did I mention more date nights?  We tend to utilize a sitter (my parents) only when we have something to do- like a birthday party, big errands, a Thunder game, anniversary- how about just because I want to enjoy a nice dinner and movie with my husband?!

3.  Learn- I still don’t know how to sew, and I still don’t have a curtain in the bathroom (the glass is frosted, but I still wish there were one there).  So, I just want to learn how to do things- sew, knit, make things, and find more time to read.  I’m looking into classes and YouTube videos.  Time is precious, but it’s important to me that I incorporate new things into my life.  The more you know, right?

4.  Plan- I feel like I used to be organized. Once upon a time.  But, then I had a baby and I don’t want to blame him, but I really don’t know what happened.  Suddenly I’m late everywhere, and I always feel behind.  On laundry, grocery shopping, chores, work projects- my whole life feels behind.  So, with a little planning, I think I can get ahead in life.  Planning menus each weekend and going to the grocery store, making timelines for work.  Spend a few minutes planning and I know I can be more organized.

So, that’s what I hope to do this year.  There are other things that are permanently on my life to do list- get ahead financially, lose weight, eat healthy, exercise more, etc- and the McCords are making strides in most of those areas.  But those are just good things to do in life, so I didn’t add them to the 2011 list.  I’m excited to see what 2011 brings.

 

Responses

  1. Celizl…I read your blog so keep them coming! 🙂 Good resolutions!


Leave a Reply

Categories

