Posted by: mccordalliance | January 28, 2010

Resolutions

I haven’t made New Year’s Resolutions in a long time.  Seems like I never really stuck to them, as I’m sure about 75 percent of the other people out there don’t.  This year, here’s a list…things the McCords want to accomplish in 2010.

1.  Pay off Debt
Once upon a time, we paid off our credit cards.  It was wonderful.  Then, life happened…new tires, babies, more new tires, car repairs, new washer and dryer…and poof- we are paying Visa  again.  What a rip off!  It really pisses me off to make those payments each month.  I can think of so many better uses for that money!  So, in 2010 the debt will end!  We have a plan in place to get rid of it, we’re both on board and we’re both committed to this goal.  If we don’t accomplish anything else this year,this will get done!

2.  Hobbies
I think that people need hobbies and interests.  Especially couples- while it’s nice to have common interests, it’s also nice for couples to have their own interests.  Chris is growing his photography hobby and learning more about fish as he builds an aquarium.  He plays basketball each week.   I need something to do.  I have Junior League and that’s a great way to give back to the community and socialize, but I want to learn more.  So, I’m exploring more cooking/baking, and learning to sew.  I’m signed up for a sewing class this spring. I don’t think I’ll be making our clothes, but I want to know how to at least do simple things.  Like make the bathroom curtain that we’ve needed for the past 4 years.

3.  Less Soda
We switched to diet a couple of years ago, but that’s not an excuse to drink lots of it.  I virtually eliminated soda while I was pregnant, but once I had Jack, I slowly started drinking more and more, consuming 2-3 Diet Dr. Peppers per day.  Chris drinks it late at night.  So, new goal for both of us- only one diet soda per day.  So far, I think we’re doing pretty good with this one.

4. Less Lunch
No, we’re not eating less…that’s another resolution.  It is so much easier to eat lunch out than to bring lunch.  The mornings are so hectic getting myself ready, Jack ready, dogs fed, blah blah blah.  If I do prepare lunch, I often walk out the door without it.  But, I’m trying to bring my lunch twice a week.  Better for my wallet and better control of what is going in my belly.  It’s a work in progress.  I’ve started keeping frozen meals in the freezer at work in case I forget my lunch. 

Those are our 2010 resolutions.  The usual lose 10 (or 20 or 30!) pounds, eat healthier, workout more are always there in the back of my mind, but those are so overdone!  But here’s to hoping we fit those in too!

Responses

  1. […] resolutions- just things I want to do more of.  I was very proud of this list.  Then I saw my 2010 resolutions, and realized they’re a little similar.  Apparently, in the past year, I failed to do enough […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

