Posted by: mccordalliance | January 28, 2010

Cupcakes

I love cupcakes! They are cute, they’re the perfect size, they come in countless flavors, and they’re delicious. With the influx of cupcakeries in OKC, I love to buy them rather than make them. I even love the ones you get at the grocery store, with the buttercream icing. Yum! I don’t know what grocery stores use for icing (I don’t think I want to know) but there is some kind of crack in there- I could eat it all day long.

So, to go along with my hobbies resolution, I decided to make cupcakes while I was home with a sick baby last Friday. My favorite place to get cupcakes is a place here called Cuppies and Joe (www.cuppiesandjoe.com). My current favorites of theirs are the Huxtable (chocolate cake, chocolate buttercream, caramel and Heath candy) and Boom Boom Pow (vanilla bean cake, chocolate buttercream, caramel and sea salt). Since I was stuck home with a sick baby and couldn’t go get some of this deliciousness, I decided to try my hand at making my own.

I cheated and use a box of vanilla cake mix. I did make chocolate buttercream icing for the first time ever. It was really easy, but didn’t taste quite like I hoped it would. It was okay, just not fantastic. Still, since it was my first time, I was pretty proud of myself. I added some caramel topping I had on hand (which was too runny), and put sea salt on some, Heath on the other, and left some just chocolate. They were good- I shared with my whole family. Not as good as Cuppies and Joe, but good. And, I felt some pride that I made them myself. I had fun with it and look forward to more baking experiments!

Here’s the finished product!

Responses

  1. Yum! Yum! Yum! Perfect thing to do when you’re at home all day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

