Posted by: mccordalliance | December 11, 2009

What’s for Dinner

I enjoy cooking. But since Jack’s arrival, I find that I’m not very good about cooking. I usually forget to plan ahead, so the meat is frozen or I’m missing a key ingredient. We do a lot of convenience meals- Hormel Pot Roast is a standby favorite; spaghetti; Bertoli meals, etc. But, tonight I cooked. Okay, I stayed home with a baby who wasn’t feeling well, so I had the time to start dinner earlier. So, I really did cook. We are having Chili Lime Pork Tenderloin. I’ve made this before and it’s really easy, ready in a jif, and pretty delicious. Enjoy! Oh, and I don’t know why it tells you to line a baking sheet with foil- the recipe never references using this pan that you’ve prepared. I guess you could put it in this pan after you brown it, if you don’t have an oven safe skillet.
(edit: I was running short on time so I skipped the browning and actually lined the pan with foil. put it in the pan and baked for about 30 minutes. Chris is always skeptical of new things, but said I could make this anytime! took some to my mom’s house and it was all gone. Success!)

Chili Lime Pork Tenderloin

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds pork tenderloin
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Preparation

Preheat oven to 400°F. Line a large rimmed baking sheet with foil. Pat pork tenderloin dry and season on all sides with salt and pepper.

Blend chili powder with lime juice, soy sauce and sugar in a small bowl. Use your hands to rub mixture thoroughly into tenderloin. Warm a large ovenproof skillet over high heat, then add oil. Add pork and sear on all sides, turning meat with tongs, about 2 minutes total. Place skillet in preheated oven and bake until a thermometer inserted in center of tenderloin reads 145°F, about 20 to 25 minutes, depending on thickness of tenderloin. Baste with any juices that have accumulated and add 2 Tbsp. water at a time, if necessary, to prevent scorching.

Remove tenderloin to a cutting board, cover loosely with foil and let sit for 5 minutes. Slice on diagonal into 1/2-inch-thick pieces and serve.

Responses

  1. YUM! Thanks for posting! I am always looking for new yummy recipes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

