Posted by: mccordalliance | October 20, 2009

U2 Invasion

U2 is one of those bands that everyone should see. I saw them in Dallas in 2001 and it’s one of the best shows I’ve ever seen. Not only is their music incredible, but their show is a spectacle. Runways, light shows, lots of screens and constant movement.

Chris has never seen a U2 show and it was one band he was dying to see They released a new album a few months back and I knew there had to be a tour to go along with it. I figured they would play Dallas or KC and I could surprise him with tickets for his birthday. It was going to be awesome.

So, they announce the tour, and one of the stops is Norman, OK. Chris pounces on this, buys tickets and my plans were foiled. But at least I was going to see U2 again!!

The show was last night and it was great. The Black Eyed Peas opened and I thought they were awesome. Their music is infectious- you can’t help but dance when you hear it. I really enjoyed them- even more than I thought I would.

The stage was huge and looked like a giant claw- it was a spaceship. The stage was in the middle of the field and surrounded by a runway which the band ran around all night long. Above the band were many LED lights that made up a screen that showed the band, but also some cool light shows.

They played new stuff, old stuff, a few lines of covers, and they played a long time- 19 songs I think. It was a really fun night with friends (like Fergie and Bono!) and insanely good music! Chris’ concert wishlist is almost complete.

Leave a Reply

Categories

