Posted by: mccordalliance | June 16, 2009

Welcome Jack Quentin

Jack Quentin McCord arrived Friday, May 29th at 7:16 pm.  He was 19.5 inches long and weighed 6lb 1oz.  He arrived fast and furious- my water broke (more like trickled) around 3 pm.  It took me a while to figure out what was going on.  After consulting with my sister, I called the doctor’s office, and they said I need to go to the ER to get checked out.  At that point, there was not much pain- I thought it was a false alarm!  I drove home from work, Chris met me at the house, and we headed to the hospital.  A nurse came in to check on me at 5:00, and by then, I was having contractions.  They were a little painful, but not as intense as I expected.  The nurse confirmed that I was having contrations about 3 minutes apart, and I was dilated to a 5.  This baby was ready to come out!  Chris made a quick phone call, and someone stopped by our house and brought us a camera, and the rest is a blur!

I was wheeled up to my room on the 6th floor of the hospital (my suite!) and given an epidural.  Then, my doctor was there, and told me it was time to push.  I pushed a few times, and baby’s heart rate was dropping so he needed to come out.  Dr. Hager was very calm, which kept me very calm.  She is an awesome doctor and I’m so glad she was there in the delivery room with me to keep me calm in the chaos.  A final push, and he was pulled out with the forceps, and there he was.  He was a little early- 36 weeks- so he had to be checked out by the NICU team, but he was great.  They cleaned him up, weighed him, etc- I got to hold him for a few minutes, then he had to go to the nursery because his breathing was a little fast.  He stayed in the nursery all night, but by morning, his breathing was normal and he got to stay with us.

Saturday was busy- little Jack had lots of visitors!  My mom and stepdad- Glammy and Baba came, along with my sister, brother in law and nephew, Eli.  Eli loves his cousin, and calls him “my baby Jack.”  He gave his lots of loves and kisses.  Chris’ mom came to visit, as well as his cousin David.  My grandparents, Granny and Pappa, and Uncle Dan came, and my Dad and Victoria.  We had a nice morning of family time, then friends started arriving.  Tiffany, Crystina, Wade and little Porter came, Cari and Elizabeth, The Schmidt family and Angela, Kevin, Neil, Nathan, Darren and Dolan, the Hargis crew, Doug and Julie, Aunt Pat, Lance and Joy (although they had to leave before they got to meet Jack).  Jack also go to meet his pediatrician, Dr. Schrader.

Sunday brought more fun. Jack had his second medical adventure (besides being born)- he was circumcised!  Luckily, we weren’t there for that to witness his pain.  The doctor said he was a trooper and enjoyed his first lollipop afterwards.  Jack had a hearing screen, and his first photo session, another visit from my family, and then our stay was up.  We got to go home on Sunday afternoon.  My sister Savannah went to the house before us and made sure everything was set up and ready for Jack.  When we arrived home, we introduced Jack to his dogs, Owen and Mippy.  They sniffed him, and Mippy immediately became protective of him.  He likes to lay near Jack, and runs to check on him whenever he makes a noise.

We did some firsts in those first couple of days at home- first poop, first bath, first walk.  2 days after being home, we were back at the ER- Jack’s temp had dropped low and they had to check for infection, like meningitis.  After drawing blood and spinal fluid, Jack had to stay in the hospital on antibiotics for about 3 days so they tests could all come back.  They all came back negative, thank goodness!  He also had a pretty bad case of jaundice, so he stayed under bili lights while he was there as well.  It was a very scary time for us, but we got to stay there with us, and after the first day, it looked positive that there was no infection.  The nurses took great care of him, and his peditrician came by everyday to check in on him.  He was released from the hospital on his 1 week birthday, and has been doing great ever since.  We spent that weekend enjoying time together as a little family.  Chris and I are a lucky little family, and enjoying time with our precious little man.

Here are some pics of Jack’s first week:

Jack's first picture

Jack's first picture

Jack and Mommy meet for the first time

Jack and Mommy meet for the first time

 

Jack and Daddy

Jack and Daddy

Love from his cousin Eli

Love from his cousin Eli

Leave a Reply

Categories

