Posted by: mccordalliance | January 6, 2009

End of 08

So, blogging in 08=FAIL.  The end of the year was rough, and while there was a lot going on, many things in our lives seemed to come to a halt.  Apparently blogging was one of them.  But, I’m back in 09, and have a lot to share. 

In October, as we dealt with Chris’s mom’s diagnosis, I learned that I’m pregnant.  Baby Bean (who is now the size of an apple and actually looks like a baby now, rather than a bean) is due June 25th.  We are really excited to become parents.  We have a couple of doctors appointments coming up this month, and should know if it’s a boy or a girl by the end of the month.  Yay!  We haven’t thought about furniture, decor, etc until we know what we’re having.  As soon as we know, let the shopping and decorating begin!

Also in November, I started a new job.  I’m now the Annual Giving Director for the St. Anthony Foundation.  St. Anthony is the oldest hospital in OKC.  I’m doing the PR, special events and direct mail fundraising for the Foundation.  I work with a great staff, and like it so far.  It’s a bit of a slower pace than the Arts Council, which honestly, is what I needed.  There will be busy times, like when I’m planning our annual black-tie ball, or running a campaign, but it seems like cake compared to the crazy hours that the Festival of the Arts brought. 

The holidays came and went.  We ate, laughed, and enjoyed time with family.  Rockband was a big hit this year.  Our band (Chris, me, Savannah and Brad) practiced many hours, and performed our first gig during halftime of the OSU bowl game.  Surprisingly, the crowd didn’t ask for an encore.

Chris continues to amaze me with the patience, care and love he shows his mom.  She is doing as well as she can be- her body appears to be responsing well to the chemo, with just a few side effects- mainly low energy.  She is so excited to be a grandmother- this baby is a blessing that couldn’t have come at a better time.

Here’s a pic of the baby at 13 weeks.  The head is on the right, and baby is laying facedown.

I think we’re both ready to say farewell to 08, and anxious to see what 09 has in store. 

13w1d

Responses

  1. Celena, I’m sorry to hear about Chris’ mom’s illness. I pray everything continues to go well with her treatment. Congrats… on the baby AND the job!!! We’re so excited for the two of you, keep us posted 😉

  2. Super great to read your update. Lots of news. Hope you and baby continue to feel and grow healthily (is that a word?!).

  3. YEAH! I’m so glad you are back! I can’t wait to hear more about Baby Bean. I have a feeling it’s gonna be a girl!

    Congrats on the new job. And we will keep Chris’s mom in our thoughts and prayers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

