Posted by: mccordalliance | April 10, 2008

Fun Stuff

We’ve been up to some fun stuff lately.  Last weekend, Chris went to Texhoma with the boys and went fishing/camping.  While he was the only one who didn’t catch a fish, he still had a good time.  I hope they go back so he gets more use out of the rod, reel and sleeping bag he just HAD to have for this trip.

I didn’t get to go on the boys trip, but had my own fun.  Cari, Wendi, Angela, Julie and I spent Saturday afternoon at Red Pin bowling for Kids Sake.  Our team rocked and raised over $500 for Big Brothers/Big Sisters.  We had lots of fun, and I placed 2nd in both games- guess all that practice on the bowling game at Cock o the Walk is paying off!

The weather on Sunday was absolutely perfect.  I was signed up for the Redbud 5K.  I started a training program earlier in the year, but it kind of fell to the wayside.  I decided to go through with the 5k, although I may be in the worst shape of my life right now.  I managed to run the first mile or so, then had to start walking.  In all, I probably ran half and walked half.  My goals- to finish and not be dead last. I met both goals.  My time was not stellar, so I won’t post it.  It was a really fun day though, and I’m thankful for my running buddies- Marla, Elizabeth and Wendi- and very proud of Cari for completing the 10K.  It was my first 5K.  I’ll definitely do it again, just with better training this time.

We had some really nice weather- the drive around with the windows rolled down kind of spring weather.  I had the windows down, and a Jason Boland song came on the radio. I haven’t listened to Boland in quite a while, but all of a sudden I just felt so happy.  I think I associate his music with good times.  The weather was so beautiful right then- it was just the perfect place to be!

Leave a Reply

Categories

